

ST. MARY'S COLLEGE (AUTONOMOUS)

(Re-accredited with "A+" Grade by NAAC - 4th Cycle)

Thoothukudi - 628001, Tamil Nadu, India.

(Affiliated to Manonmaniam Sundaranar University)

Department of Chemistry

Profile

The Department of Chemistry was established in the year 1957. The Department has completed its Diamond Jubilee. At present, a team of seven faculty members and three supportive staff along with 150 students are in the Chemistry Department.

Vision

"To be a leading centre of excellence in science education, open learning, research and community service for sustainable development and empower every individual with integrity and knowledge" striving with the **motto** "Integrity and Synergy".

Mission

- 1. To provide a broad foundation in Chemistry that stresses scientific reasoning and analytical problem solving with a molecular perspective.
- 2. To provide students with the skills required to succeed in professional career.
- 3. To expose the students to a breadth of experimental techniques using modern instrumentation.
- 4. Promote self-employment through various areas of chemical science.

The Department was upgraded to post graduate level in the year 2016 under the stream of self-supportive course.

From 16th March 2019 our Department is supported by **STAR COLLEGE SCHEME**, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, New Delhi.

The Department of Chemistry was provisionally recognised as Research centre to offer Ph.D. programme from the academic year 2024-2025.

Pioneers

The *pioneers* who have shaped and moulded the Department as Heads of Department are as follows:

Ms. Mary Mathew, Ms.Kamala Iyengar, Ms.Jothikumari (1964-1971), J.Janaki (1971-1975), Ms. Gomathi Viswanathan (1975-1979), Ms. R. Jeyalakshmi (1979-2003), Ms. I. Lettitia Mary Abteen Seeli (2003-2011), Dr. Mrs. T. Linda Fernando (2011-2016), Dr. Mrs. J. Martin Rathi (2016-2021), Ms. Rani Jeyamary (2021-2023), Dr. Mrs. Irudaya Antonat Sophia (2023----) The Department also owes its gratitude to the eminent teachers Ms. Sulochana Muthu, Ms.Rachael Ponrani, Ms.Nithya Kalyani, Ms.Carmen Corera, Ms. Pragasiammal Fernandez, Rev. Sr. Corona Mary, Ms. V. Jeyalakshmi, Ms. Annie Cecil Chandra, Ms. T. Jeyalakshmi, Rev .Sr. Jothi Mary, Ms. S. Parvatham, Ms. Memora V.Rayen, Ms. Ammini Mathew, Ms. P. Rajeswari, Sr. Fabiola Ricci and Dr. Ms. M. Subbulakshmi.

